In October slog – metal act, Spirit Adrift, let loose their new LP.

They held an album release show for Curse of Conception, their second full-length offering at Phoenix’s Yucca Tap Room. The group is the brainchild of singer/guitarist Nate Garrett who wrote and recorded the debut, Chained to Oblivion, all on his lonesome. For the next stage of Spirit Adrift Garrett put together a four-piece band to reach a more expansive sound and extend the live experience. The current group now rounds out with Jeff Owens on guitar, Chase Mason on bass and Marcus Bryant on drums. Mason and Garrett also play together in Gatecreeper.

The new songs are stretched out like black gum crusted on the sidewalk.

It’s early Metallica after a few cups of some purple drank. Live, Spirit Adrift is a slow process of brutalization that lowers the audience closer and closer to the flame. Curse of Conception was released by the label 20 Buck Spin and is now available. Hear it on Bandcamp.










Atriarch (bottom right), from Portland, Take Over And Destroy and Divine Hammer, from Arizona, opened.








Live Music Music Music Reviews

Leave a Comment